Online, Saves Time

Council Boundary Reforms

The Boundary Commission for Wales' Final Recommendations for the future electoral arrangements for the County Borough of Merthyr Tydfil were given approval on 11 August 2021. 

The Local Democracy and Boundary Commission for Wales  conducted a review of the electoral arrangements of the County Borough of Merthyr Tydfil and published their Final Recommendations Report which was approved with small amendments.

The changes accepted by the Welsh Government mean that Merthyr Tydfil's number of councillors will reduce by 3, one from each of the Dowlais, Gurnos and Park wards, taking the council from 33 to 30 members.

The full list of retained wards will remain at 11 with a small number of changes to the names:

  • Bedlinog and Trelewis
  • Cyfarthfa
  • Dowlais and Pant
  • Gurnos
  • Merthyr Vale
  • Park
  • Penydarren
  • Plymouth
  • Town
  • Treharris
  • Vaynor

These changes will take effect from the next Local Government Election which will be held in May 2022.