Cyfarthfa Park is situated in 160 acres of parkland with formal gardens, a lake, children’s play areas, and a model railway.
Cyfarthfa Park is a great day out, set on the edge of the picturesque Brecon Beacons National Park, and is also the venue for many of the County Borough's events including the 'Show of Shows' Merthyr Tydfil's County Show, the Fireworks Skyshow and have been home to great concerts such as Status Quo and Donnie Osmond.
The Sensory Garden project was officially opened by His Worship the Mayor on 14th September 2006. The garden is situated in Cyfarthfa Park, directly below the Bowling Green and tennis courts where the aviary once stood. The main purpose of the garden is to provide a safe and pleasant walk for everyone, including those with sensory and / or other impairments.
The walk starts at Cyfarthfa Castle itself leading down to an enclosed garden area which offers views across the valley including the old iron works with the viaduct and remains of the old tramway.
The land at Taff Bargoed Park was formerly the site of three Collieries Trelewis Drift, Deep Navigation and Taff Merthyr and covered an area of 50 Hectares (123 Acres) and was subject to a land reclamation scheme approximately thirteen years ago.
Set in the beautiful Taff Bargoed valley, Parc Taf Bargoed is the hidden gem of Merthyr Tydfil County Borough. The Park has facilities for all abilities and can be used for Fishing, Cycling, Walking, Canoeing ect, and can be easily accessed from the Taff Trail, Trevithick Trail and Celtic Trail which runs through the site.
Activities at Parc Taf Bargoed:
This was the first open space acquired by Merthyr, situated east of the town, and what was then known as Thomastown Tip. This land is approximately 17 acres in extent and was acquired for the purpose of a Public Park in 1900.
It is very skillfully laid out as a Park and Pleasure Grounds, full advantage has been taken in the layout of the natural features, and is now a local beauty spot, attracting many thousands of visitors during the course of the year.
It has extensive flowerbeds and borders, shubberies, a playing pitch, a bandstand and conveniences. There is also a well equipped Children's Playground and paddling pool which opens in the summer months as well as a Bowling Green and three hard Tennis Courts.
The Park is within easy reach of the town being situated on high ground there are fine views of the surrounding countryside.
The land was obtained by Merthyr Council in 1911 and opened its gates to the public as a recreational Pleasure Ground in 1912. The area was originally farm land known as Penygraig and made the foundations of a natural park with woodland and dell.
The Park hosts some magnificent specimens of conifer and maple trees and partnered by the mass of bedding plants & shrubs highlight the park throughout the summer months.
Treharris Park is also home to a beautifully built bowling green, children’s playground & paddling pool, bandstand with seating, public conveniences, pavilion and football pitch.
The land that is now known as Troedyrhiw Park was acquired by Merthyr Council from the Earl of Plymouth in 1912.
The health of the population was the main motivation behind the National "Parks Movement", and although chiefly a grassed area Troedyrhiw Park was then laid out with Trees, Shrubs, flower beds and borders.
Outdoor sport was seen as essential for good health so an excellent bowling green was built along with two hard tennis courts and a pavilion. Troedyrhiw Park also features a well built Childrens playground and war memorial.