Online, Saves Time

Houses in Multiple Occupation Licence

The Housing Act 2004 places a duty on local authorities in Wales to licence houses in multiple occupation (HMOs). This is known as mandatory licensing.
Mandatory licensing of houses in multiple occupation is a scheme that applies across the UK. The scheme only applies to houses in multiple occupation that meet the following criteria:

  • The houses in multiple occupation or any part of it comprises three storeys or more; and
  • It is occupied by five or more persons; and
  • It is occupied by person living in two or more single households, with a sharing of facilities.

If your property meets the criteria of the above scheme, you will need to apply for a licence. Please see our Information for Applicant booklet for further information.

Application forms can be obtained by contacting us.

What Standard is Required?

For further information on the standards please see the document below.

Public Register of Licensable HMOs

You can view a copy of the Public Register for HMOs below:

View the HMO register

Contact Us

Were you looking for?