Online, Saves Time

Different Types of Elections

There are different types of election in the UK, and referendums can also be called as a way of asking the public a question.  As a poll approaches you will be provided with information on the election but you won’t be able to take part unless you are registered to vote.

Local Council Elections

Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council has 11 electoral divisions to which a total of 30 councillors are elected via the first past the post election method. Elections to the one community council in Bedlinog and Trelewis is generally combined with the county borough election.

The most recent Local Council Election was held in May 2022.

UK Parliamentary Election

MPs are voted into the House of Commons at a Parliamentary General Election.

Merthyr Tydfil currently combines with part of the county borough of Rhondda Cynon Taf to form the Merthyr Tydfil and Aberdare Constituency.

Except in exceptional circumstances, Parliamentary Elections will be held every 5 years, on the first Thursday in May. 

The most recent Parliamentary Election was held in December 2019.  The next election will be held by January 2025.

Welsh Parliament Elections

The Welsh Parliament is a devolved democratically elected body that represents the interests of Wales and its people.   

Commonly known as the Senedd, it makes laws for Wales, agrees Welsh taxes and holds the Welsh Government to account.

The most recent National Assembly for Wales Election was held in May 2021

Police and Crime Commissioner Election

When you vote in the Police and Crime Commissioner elections you use the Supplementary vote system.  For example, the elector will be asked to choose a first preference candidate and a second preference candidate.  If there is not a majority of 50% + 1 from the first preference votes, the second preference votes will be taken into account.  If only two candidates stand in your area the first-past-the-post system is used.

The Merthyr Tydfil County Borough falls within the South Wales police area.

The last Police and Crime Commissioner election took place in May 2021


Contact Us

Were you looking for?